Constructive Politics – MP Hri Kumar Vs MP Low Thia Khiang

  ->  Hri Kumar

Constructive Politics (2)

I thank everyone for their comments on my speech.

The media did not report that the Leader of the Opposition, Mr Low Thia Khiang, had asked me some questions at the end of my speech. For completeness, I set out a rough transcript of that exchange.

Low: I seek clarification from the Member. The Member talked about alternative policies from the Opposition. He does not sound as reasonable as the Prime Minister. The Member is the Chairman of a Government Parliamentary Committee. What alternative policies has he come up with? I noted he has made some criticisms but I have not heard of his alternative policies accompanying his criticism? Madam, I would like to seek clarification from the Member as to whether he thinks US President Obama is a statesman or a politician. Secondly, I would like him to say whether he has defamed by the stroke of what he said here, “Politicians in mature democracy”. And thirdly, does he think that the voters, the citizens in mature democracies are all unable to think independently and to make their own decisions, and are just simply slaves of their politicians.

Nair:  The Prime Minister is a far more polite person than I am. I will try and address all of the learned Member’s points. I am not a member of the Opposition.  I know I am dressed in blue today, but ….  The Member will know if he has read my speeches and has followed my writings, I have dealt with many policies of the Government. I have offered constructive suggestions, not just in MHA but in other Ministries as well. If he wants a list, I will be happy to send him a list tomorrow morning. For example, for the Ministry of National Development, I have suggested raising the income ceiling for Singaporeans to buy HDB flats before the income ceiling was raised. I had gone further to say that all Singaporeans should be entitled to buy HDB flats. And I can go  Ministry by Ministry – Education, Home Affairs and others – where I have made constructive suggestions with details. I think that is the difference between me and him.

Whether President Obama is a statesman or not, I am not getting into that debate. I did not say that all politicians in mature democracies were not statesmen. I said there were few and far between.

And I am not going to discuss individual politicians.

And insofar as electorate in mature democracies are concerned, I have given him the numbers. Your right to vote is the most important sacred right of any citizen but look at the numbers. People are tuning out. Half the population, the voting population are not exercising their right to vote. Why would they not do that? They do not do that because it has become to them a pointless exercise. It does not matter who they vote because they do not expect the outcomes to be any different. If we go down that path and if we come to that situation, it will be a sad sorry day for Singapore.

Low:   On alternative policies — the Member referred to and cited his own suggestions, his comments on policies and how he had made suggestions. I also invite him to check the Hansard, the Workers’ Party MPs have also made a lot of suggestions, some which were taken up. But when we say we are happy to see that the Government has taken up some suggestions, we were told the Workers’ Party is claiming credit. This is the double standards of politics.

Nair:   It can be resolved very easily. All the Workers’ Party needs to do is to produce all their proposals and all their details, and let Singaporeans scrutinise as to whether they have been constructive and whether they have offered serious, realistic proposals.   I have written about this many times and I have spoken about it many times and we are still waiting to hear from them.

Low:  I would like to let the Member know that the Workers’ Party does have a manifesto. It is published on our website. He can go and take a look at our positions on certain key policy issues, and what do we think, and whether indeed some in the manifesto has been taken up by the Government, in terms of policy shifts. I would like to inform him that yes, perhaps we are reviewing our policies, our manifesto, maybe we can come up with something more in the future but let us be patient.

Nair: I would like the Honourable Member to know that there is a difference between a detail and a motherhood statement.”

**********************************

More Readings  : Constructive Politics

***********************************

 

Photo: Rough transcript of  MP Bishan Toa Payoh GRC, Mr Hri Kumar's reply to Low Thia Khiang who were trying to weasel out of his party offering no alternative details except to suggest motherhood statement to "do a little better" when it suits them: [The member will know if he had read my speeches and followed my writings, I have dealt with many policies of the government. And I have offered constructive suggestions, not just in MHA but in other ministries as well. For example, for Ministry of National Development, I have suggested raising the income ceiling for Singaporeans to buy HDB flats before the income ceiling was raised. I have gone further to say that all Singaporean should be entitled to buy HDB flats. And I can go down ministry by ministry, there are Education, Home Affairs and others where I had made constructive suggestion with DETAILS. And I think that's the difference between me and him.] May 2014 Debate on President's Address: video: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/specialreports/parliament/videos/singaporeans-still/1125694.html
Photo: #LMAO - (MP Bishan Toa Payoh GRC) Hri Kumar was amused by Mr Low Thia Khiang weaseling out of producing "all their (past) proposals and all their DETAILS, and let Singaporeans scrutinise as to whether they have been constructive and whether they have offered serious, realistic proposals."</p> <p>Hri Kumar's speech: https://www.facebook.com/notes/hri-kumar/constructive-politics/706553552724578</p> <p>The transcript of the exchange between #LTK & Hri Kumar: https://www.facebook.com/notes/hri-kumar/constructive-politics-2/707425745970692</p> <p>People's Action Party Aljunied GRC The Workers' Party

Image source link -> Fabrications About The PAP

****************************************************

Comments : 

  • the question i would like to ask Mr. Low is: if you believe so strongly in your manifesto, why do you consistently have to tell others to ‘go and read our website’? Should you not be able to stand by your convictions right there and then? Or is it that you can’t even recall your own manifesto; side note: i don’t believe Mr. Low is giving an actual rebuttal Mr. Kumar’s statement. (Mere Cursory analysis of the given 3 pictures.)

 

  • If there is ever a change in COE implementation , it is my credit ! Cause I wrote and complained about it on my Facebook status !

 

  • Does he really expect to win me over to vote for him when he can’t even bloody remember his party’s manifesto? – Why absurd, “Please vote for me, go and read my website for my manifesto.” Because that sounds so assuring and competent

 

  • The joke is LTK suggests that one should read WP’s manifesto and if there are any changes in government policy that is inside the manifesto , then it is WP’s credit !

 

  • Only in Singapore we have voters who actually buy into the “vote for WP to make PAP work harder for you” line. That’s why they don’t expect WP to do anything and WP can sit back and enjoy the $16K monthly allowance.

********************************************

Leave a Reply

