Bertha Harian

Many moons ago, I was on a panel interviewing a young woman who applied to be an ST journalist. She graduated from a reputable American journalism school, aced her writing test (by that, I mean she scored about 60 per cent – great feat!) and was articulate during her interview. She even had a portfolio of work, mainly travel pieces for a publication here. Seems like a sure hire – until I started making small talk.

“Wow! You were in Athens! I’ve never been there,” I said.

“I haven’t either,” she replied.

“Wait a minute, you have a piece here about eating dinner in Athens with this magnificent waiter hovering by. Clear night sky and all,” I said.

“That’s my friend,” she said.

Raised eyebrows do not suffice. It was a jaw-dropping moment for the three of us on the panel. That travel piece was a first-person account with plenty of I, me and…

View original post 689 more words

Leave a Reply

